Blog · October 2017 · Michael Klett

Forgetting the Second Save

Talking to customers there is a common mistake that people make with a HaulPass V60s terminal. I'm aware of this mistake myself as I have made it, too.

The error is forgetting the second save.

The V60s has three configurations that it maintains:

  • The running-config
  • The default-config
  • The startup-config

running-config

The running-config is the actual configuration that is loaded into memory and is actively in use. When you change a setting via the web interface or telnet the change is only made in the currently running configuration. If the switch stops working in your network you can power cycle the terminal and bring it up in the last saved configuration. This allows you to make non-permanent or trial changes without committing to them.

default-config

The default-config holds the factory default settings and is not changeable by the user. If you need to, you can restore the factory defaults from the left hand side menu: Maintenance > Factory Defaults.

If you are locked out of the web interface, you can reset the device to factory defaults by creating a loop between the two RJ45 ports and the POE Injector. See the IP and Password Restore Tech Note.

startup-config

The startup-config is saved in non-volatile memory and is copied to the running-config on system boot. The startup-config is changed by copying the running-config to startup-config. This is also known as the second save.

The second save is accomplished by selecting the menu choice Maintenance > Save startup-config and then pressing the Save Configuration button.

Knowing you saved

A change that we made in the latest firmware revisions (Radio Firmware Version 2.04.23, Software Version 2_4_9) was to make it easier to know if you have performed the second save or not. When you make a change to the running-config the banner in the upper right hand of the web display changes to CFG STATUS: SAVE startup-config, indicating that you need to save your changes if you intend to keep them. Anytime the running-config and the startup-config are different this is the message displayed.

V60s web interface banner showing CFG STATUS: SAVE startup-configV60s web interface banner showing CFG STATUS: SAVED after the second save
Before and after the second save: the banner changes from SAVE startup-config to SAVED.

After you successfully perform the second save, the status will change to CFG STATUS: SAVED, indicating that the current running-config has been saved to non-volatile memory and will be restored on the next power cycle or reboot. So after making changes, double check the CFG STATUS before closing the web browser window to be sure that you have saved the configuration that you want to save.

One last item

You may notice in the pictures that I have set the terminal NAME to be V60s-Demo. You can change this to almost anything you'd like in order to help you identify which terminal you are working with when you have the web browser window open. The terminal name is set with menu option Configuration > System > Information.

What else would you like to learn about? Send us an email and let us know.

← Back to the blog

Deploying a HaulPass V60s link?

Our engineering team supports customer links in the field — reach out with configuration or monitoring questions.